Blog number one

I have a new band called “Brother Face”, and we have a tour which, I discovered a week ago, is now funded partly by the Arts Council.  One of the conditions of receiving the money is that I write a blog, and so I am making a start.  I can’t face anything other than factual information at the moment, just dipping my toe in the water blog-wise; so here are the dates.


20th September     Wakefield Sports and Social Club
27th September     Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Boxford
8th October             Midlands Arts Centre, Birmingham
12th October          The Hive Theatre, Shrewsbury
18th October           Millennium Hall, Sheffield
1st November         The Verdict, Brighton
8th November         The Vortex, Dalston, London

We also have two workshops, one at 4.00 on October 8th at the MAC with Birmingham Conservatoire students, the other at 10am at the Guildhall School Of Music And Drama.

The band is made up of my regular trio with Dave Whitford and Dave Wickins on bass and drums, and adds the tenor/clarinet of Shabaka Hutchings and trumpet of Chris Batchelor, and it’s all my music (the written bits anyway). 

I guess this will be some kind of diary of what happens when we do things.  I will try and make it interesting, but I guess I should not shy away from the documenting of things that are not.  

Wish me luck, I just said to myself as I wrote this.  

By the way, the name…from a poem by Robert Creeley called “Histoire de Florida”.
It doesn’t really mean anything (like the music), but I like the way it almost could.
Leave a Reply

